Making Friends

Bloody hell, this was a rough one for me. I can’t say I’m the most social all the time but I do have small bursts of confidence. Let’s just say, I forgot how much small talk comes before inside jokes, discussing toilet habits and crying on their shoulders.

Some advice I’d give? Throw yourself into it. Say YES to EVERYTHING. I met a girl out here that doesn’t drink but she’ll come out on nights out with us and make sure we all get home safely, and boy she’s got some moves of her own. I was terrified that I would end up getting out here and being so lonely throughout all of it, but the biggest lesson that I’ve learnt by going through this process, is that you just gotta do you. Yeah its cool to reinvent yourself, get over your ex and go a bit crazy, but at the end of the day, these people will become life long friends – and you’ve still got to head back to your home uni at the end of the year.

I faked being sick for the first social event of the year – and I regret that every time someone brings up a memory of that day/night. Yeah its silly awkward, and it’s a little embarrassing when you’re sat alone and everyone looks like they’re having a good time. But chances are – they’re feeling just as awkward as you are and they’ve just mustered up the courage to say hi.

I’ve made some really great friends out here and I’ve also met some interesting people that don’t see eye to eye with me and vice versa. But at the end of the day – you’re abroad! Most likely, most of the friends you make will be too! It’s awkward yes, but just wait it out – keep going and honestly you’ll end up with the best stories, the sweetest shoulders to cry on and people that bring you a golden red cup because they know it’ll cheer you up. These people that I’ve met have no idea how much they’ve influenced me, broadening my mind and given me some of the best memories I could have wished for.

I’d do it all over again if I could. Even the awkward parts.

Leave a Reply

